Monday, February 12, 2007

WAYLON JENNINGS - Nashville Rebel [BOX SET] (2006) for REX

Waylon Arnold Jennings (June 15, 1937 – February 13, 2002) was one of the most respected and influential American country music singers and guitarists of all time.

Country Rock

Waylon Jennings (vocals, guitar); Chip Young, Jerry Reed (guitar); Pete Drake (steel guitar); King Curtis (saxophone); David Briggs, Floyd Cramer, Hargus "Pig" Robbins (piano); Norbert Putnam (bass guitar); Richie Albright, Sonny Curtis, Kenny Buttrey (drums).

Recording information:
1958 - 1995. Waylon Jennings rightfully deserves to have his name listed alongside artists like Hank Williams, Johnny Cash, and Willie Nelson in the pantheon of country. As an interpreter, performer, and innovator, Jennings was an original, bucking against the traditional Nashville channels with his lean, rootsy sound and blazing the trail for the outlaw country movement. A comprehensive account of Jennings's evolution and achievement is finally available in the four-disc box set NASHVILLE REBEL. Reaching all the way back to 1958 and his slightly rock-&-roll, slightly folky early work, NASHVILLE REBEL does a grand sweep of Jennings's career through the '60s, into the epoch-defining '70s, and straight through to the mid-'90s and his recordings with the Highwaymen. Included are duets with Willie Nelson, Johnny Cash, and Jessi Colter, as well as some surprise covers of tunes by Los Lobos, Neil Young, and others.

CD 1

01 Jole Bloom
02 My Baby Walks All Over Me
03 That's The Chance I'll Have To Take
04 Stop The World (And Let Me Off)
05 Anita, You're Dreaming
06 Time To Bum Again
07 That's What You Get For Lovin' Me
08 Green River
09 Nashville Rebel
10 Mental Revenge
11 Love Of The Common People
12 Chokin' Kind, The
13 Walk On Out Of My Mind
14 I Got You
15 Only Daddy That'll Walk The Line
16 Yours Love
17 Just To Satify You
18 Someting's Wrong In California
19 Brown Eyed Handsome Man
20 Cedartown, Georgia
21 I Ain't The One - (with Jessi Colter)
22 Singer Of Sad Songs
23 It's Sure Been Fun
24 Six White Horses
25 People In Dallas Got Hair

Link to download:

CD 2

01 Taker, The
02 Mississippi Woman
03 Lovin' Her Was Easier (Than Anything I'll Ever Do Again)
04 Tulsa (Don't Let The Sun Set On You)
05 Sweet Dream Woman
06 Ladies Love Outlaws
07 Under Your Spell Again - (with Jessi Colter)
08 Lonesome, On'ry And Mean
09 Pretend I Never Happened
10 You Can Have Her
11 Honky Tonk Heroes
12 Black Rose
13 We Had It All
14 You Asked Me To
15 This Time
16 It's Not Supposed To Be That Way
17 Slow Rollin' Low
18 I'm A Ramblin' Man
19 Rainy Day Woman
20 Amanda
21 Bob Wills Is Still The King
22 Are You Sure Hank Done It This Way
23 Waymore's Blues
24 Door Is Always Open, The
25 Dreaming My Dreams With You

Link to download:

CD 3

01 "T" For Texas
02 Freedom To Stay
03 Good Hearted Woman - (with Willie Nelson)
04 Suspicious Minds - (with Jessi Colter)
05 Can't You See
06 Are You Ready For The Country
07 MacArthur Park
08 Jack-A-Diamonds
09 Luckenbach, Texas (Back To The BasicsOf Love) - (with Willie Nelson)
10 Brand New Goodbye Song
11 Wurlitzer Prize, The (I Don't Want To Get Get Out Of Hand)
12 Mammas Don't Let Your Babies GrowUp To Be Cowboys - (with Willie Nelson)
13 There Ain't No Good Chain Gang - (with Johnny Cash)
14 I've Always Been Crazy
15 Don't You Think This Outlaw's Bit'sDone Got Out Of Hand
16 Greatest Cowboy Of Them All, The - (with Johnny Cash)
17 Come With Me
18 I Ain't Living Long Like This
19 Clyde
20 Theme From The Dukes Of Hazzard (Good Ol' Boys)

Link to download:

CD 4

01 Storms Never Last - (with Jessi Colter)
02 Shine
03 Just To Satisfy You - (with Willie Nelson)
04 Women Do Know How To Carry On
05 Sittin' On The Dock Of The Bay - (with Willie Nelson)
06 Lucille (You Won't Do Your Daddy's Will)
07 Breakin' Down
08 Take It To The Limit - (with Willie Nelson)
09 Conversation, The - (with Hank Williams Jr.)
10 I May Be Used (But Baby I Ain't Used Up)
11 Never Could Toe The Mark
12 America
13 Waltz Me To Heaven
14 Highwayman - (with Kris Kristofferson)
15 Drinkin And Dreamin
16 Working Without A Net
17 Will The Wolf Survive?
18 What You'll Do When I'm Gone
19 Rose In Paradise
20 Rough And Rowdy Days
21 Wrong
22 I Do Believe - (with Kris Kristofferson)

Link to download:

"Going toe-to-toe with the monolithic, authoritative import box sets on the Bear Family label, Sony-BMG has finally given American country fans a comprehensive, thoroughly satisfying -- and affordable! -- overview of Waylon Jennings' entire career. From his early years singing in bars in the Southwest through his entry into (and swift departure from) the Nashville establishment, on into his "outlaw" golden years, this captures Waylon at his best. Disc One, which concentrates on Jennings' early years as a 1960s "folk-country" singer in Nashville, probably has the most to offer fans who are already familiar with his big, rowdy hits of the '70s and early '80s. Although the folk-oriented material isn't as rugged or meaty as his later work, there are some soulful performances and unusual arrangements and production touches that may surprise even longtime fans. The disc is well-chosen and nicely paced, and packed with plenty of non-hit material that may be unfamiliar even to devoted Waylon fans. Discs Two and Three comprehensively document his glory years, all those fearless, funny, sad, soulful hits that stand at the very core of the outlaw/alternative country canon. Yeah, there are some songs left out, but not many, and all the major touchstones are included. The last disc skims his work in the 1980s and '90s, with the added bonus that his work for the rival MCA label is also sampled, making room for some of his later hits and one-off material. There are a lot of good Waylon best-of collections on the market today, but this really blows most of them away. We could all think of some additional songs we'd like to see on here as well, but for anyone who just wants to get a really, really good introduction to Waylon's work, this collection oughtta do it for you."

"I first became aware of Waylon Jennings in the mid seventies through my father and was taken with his sound straight away ,my dad played only country music , but something about Waylons sound was more real. This collection is outstanding ,it charts waylons efforts to find his own sound and image , through to his success in the seventies and beyond.It contains all the hits ,album cuts ,and a few rare tracks.It does not make the mistake of many box sets of including too many live,and alternative versions of songs. The booklet is by far the best I have seen( and I have about 10 box sets) "
More review:

More info:


Blogger Will said...

The sendspace links for Waylon Jennings Nashville Rebel do not work. Please upload them again. The two rapidshare links work perfectly.
Thank you!

7:35 PM  
Anonymous adri said...

Thanks a lot for posting! Great music! Unfortunatelly the filesent links don't work.

6:30 AM  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

Thanks for thsi amazing box. The links for cd1 and cd4 doesn´t works.

12:18 PM  

Post a Comment

<< Home