Friday, June 02, 2006

NEIL YOUNG - Harvest Moon (1992)

Folk Rock

Kenny buttery (tracks: 1, 2, 4 to 10),Tim Drummond (tracks: 1, 2, 4 to 9),Linda Rondstadt -voc.(tracks: 1, 2, 4 to 6) ,Nicolette Larson -voc.(tracks: 3, 5, 7 to 10) ,Ben Keith (tracks: 1, 2, 4 to 9) ,Spooner Oldham (tracks: 2, 4 to 10),James Taylor -voc.(tracks: 2, 5, 6) ,Kenny Buttrey (tracks: 1, 2, 4 to 10),Astrid Young -voc.(tracks: 5, 7, 9) ,
Producer, Mixed By, Written By [Music, Words] - Neil Young


01 Unknown Legend (4:32)
02 From Hank To Hendrix (5:12)
03 You And Me (3:45)
04 Harvest Moon (5:03)
05 War Of Man (5:41)
Backing Vocals - Larry Cragg
06 One Of These Days (4:55)
07 Such A Woman (4:36)

08 Old King (2:57)
09 Dreamin' Man (4:36)
10 Natural Beauty (Live) (10:22)

Link to download:

some about him :
(Born November 12, 1945 Toronto) is a singer/songwriter, who grew up in Winnipeg, Manitoba, whose work is characterized by deeply personal lyrics, distinctive guitar work, and an almost instantly recognizable nasal tenor voice.
Although Young has experimented widely with differing music styles, swing, jazz, rockabilly, and electronica throughout a varied career, his most accessible and best known work generally falls into either of two distinct styles: an acoustic, country-tinged folk rock,or a grinding, lumbering form of hard rock.

His parents divorced when Young was twelve, and he moved with his mother back to the family home of Winnipeg, Manitoba, where his music career began. During high school in Winnipeg, he played in instrumental rock bands, one of which, the Squires, had a local hit called "The Sultan." He later worked the folk clubs in Winnipeg, where he befriended guitarist Stephen Stills and Joni Mitchell, and also spent summers in Thunder Bay, Ontario, playing at local clubs.
In 1966 relocated to Los Angeles to form Buffalo Springfield the famous band ("A mixture of folk, country, psychedelia, and rock").
After the breakup of Buffalo Springfield started to play as a solo performer backed by the band Crazy Horse (from 1975) meanwhile agreed to reunite with Stephen Stills by joining Crosby, Stills, and Nash.In 1972 released his famous albums 'Harvest',and 'After Gold Rush' with them he reached his commercial peak during the singer-songwriter boom of the early 1970s as well as with Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young.
Young was suddenly hip again, and the readers and critics of Rolling Stone voted him Artist Of The Year for 1979 (along with The Who), selected 'Rust Never Sleeps' as Album Of The Year, and voted him Male Vocalist Of The Year as well.
The 1980s were a lean time for Young both critically and commercially with his "experimental years".In the '90s he returned to country-rock roots meanwhile grunge music was beginning to make its first inroads in the charts and many of its prime movers, including Nirvana's Kurt Cobain, were citing Young as an influence, which led elements of the press to give him the somewhat dubious title "The Godfather of Grunge."he rapidly recorded the aptly titled 'Ragged Glory' with Crazy Horse, whose guitar riffs and feedback driven sound showed his new admirers that he could still cut it.Young's next move was another return to country music. 'Harvest Moon' (1992) was the long awaited sequel to Harvest and reunited him with some of the musicians from that session, including Linda Ronstadt. The title track was a minor hit and the record was reviewed and sold equally well.In 1993 he contributed music to the soundtrack of movie Philadelphia, and his song "Philadelphia" was nominated for the Academy Award for Best Song, losing out to Bruce Springsteen's contribution to the same film.
Young was back with Crazy Horse for 1994's 'Sleeps with Angels', a much darker record.
The decade ended with 'Looking Forward', another reunion with Crosby, Stills and Nash. The subsequent tour of the United States and Canada with the reformed super quartet was a huge success. Since then Young toured extensively meanwhile recorded some albums too.
In April 2006, Young confirmed that he was going to release an album full of protest songs, titled Living With War, one of whose songs is titled "Let's Impeach the President." Recorded using his famous Les Paul electric guitar, "Old Black", along with Chad Cromwell (drums), Rick Rosas (bass) and Tommy Brea(trumpet), it was intended to be a stinging rebuke of President George W. Bush and the War in Iraq.
In April 2006, it was announced that Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young would embark on their "Freedom Of Speech Tour '06". The tour will see them play dates all across North America. It is thought that many of Neil Young's songs from Living With War will get their live debut on this tour.(

"Neil Young has explored lots of musical territory and taken some interesting chances, but in my own view as a longtime fan, he's at his strongest when he's at his most acoustic and mellow. The "godfather of grunge" was also the guy who invented "unplugged."
_Harvest Moon_ is a conscious attempt to recall, celebrate, and go beyond that earlier album, and it reassembles all of the key personnel: the beloved Stray Gators, Linda Ronstadt, James Taylor, even arranger Jack Nitzche. (Even one or two songs from the old LP are deliberately invoked: "You and Me," a spare and lovely duet with the late and sorely missed Nicolette Larson, makes explicit reference to "Old Man.")
But Young didn't exactly stand still during the two decades between the two releases. _Harvest Moon_ is a much more mature and satisfying collection -- better written, better performed, better produced. Young's lyrics are wistfully evocative; his voice and guitar are clear, solid, and strong."

"This CD takes Neil Young back to the time when he recorded his best albums. It is a throw back to that era. Neil Young in my opinion is at his best with an acoustic guitar. A lot of this album is acoustic music, the way only Neil Young can sing it. "

more info: